Groove Phi Groove was founded on October 12, 1962 by a group of young black men who wanted an alternative to what could be described as the traditionalism of subjectively ascribed pseudo-fraternal organizations.[2] Groove Phi Groove is a non-Greek organization whose purpose includes promoting academic awareness, an alternative to Greek and Grecian based fraternalism as well as traditions incorporating an Afro-Centric perspective. Further, working towards assisting in alleviating both social and economic problems in disadvantaged communities.

Groove Phi Groove members hold individuality, self-expression, and creativity in its members to be paramount, as well as a focus on issues related to the empowerment of African American communities. Its members work in a wide variety of career areas, including accounting, education, engineering, human resource services, local and state government, medicine, law, protective services, information technology, religion, real estate, food service, skilled crafts, music, professional sports, the armed services, and business.



On October 12, 1962, 14 men with a purpose and vision for a better world started Groove Phi Groove Social Fellowship Incorporated on the campus of Morgan University (formerly Morgan State College).  Today, our Social Fellowship has active chapters operating in the United States, Dominican Republic, and Ghana. We continue to look toward our founders to provide us guidance and leadership especially in more challenging efforts.


The founders of Groove Phi Groove Social Fellowship are:

  • Glenn Brown
  • Raymond Clark
  • John Conquest
  • Walter Goodwin
  • Barry Hampton
  • Charlie Sam Johnson
  • Nathaniel Monroe
  • David Nesbit
  • Nathaniel Parham
  • Harry Payne
  • Barry Simms
  • Robert Simpson
  • Woodrow Williams
  • James Hill


International Presidents

Since Lenwood Harris became the First National President in 1970, 11 men have served as the National President of Groove Phi Groove Social Fellowship Incorporated. 

  • FL. Lenwood Harris
  • FL. Roy L. Sutherland
  • FL. Eugene Clay
  • FL. Ronald L. Thomas
  • FL. John East
  • FL. Barry Hampton
  • FL. Ronald P. White
  • FL. Christopher Joyner
  • FL. Victor Henderson
  • FL. Dennis K. Thomas
  • FL. Ahmad S. McDougle